Yes — a commercially insured patient who paid out of pocket at the pharmacy counter can often recover the eligible copay amount, but only if the specific brand's support program publishes a post-transaction claim route and the patient submits a complete evidence packet before that program's filing window closes. Standard consumer explainers, such as GoodRx's overview of manufacturer copay cards, note that when savings cards fail at the point of sale, patients sometimes pay their copay and request direct reimbursement from the manufacturer. Across the program documents reviewed here, however, there is no common claim form, no standard filing window, and no guarantee that a counter payment will be refunded.
Across primary manufacturer program documents reviewed as of October 15, 2026 — spanning Eli Lilly, Gilead Sciences, Sanofi and Regeneron, ViiV Healthcare, Lundbeck, Bristol Myers Squibb (BMS), Merck, Genentech, Novartis, Biocon Biologics, and Pfizer — manufacturers structure retroactive or post-purchase recovery under four distinct contractual mechanisms: post-transaction reimbursement (PTR), direct member reimbursement (DMR), post-purchase rebates, and medical or pharmacy copay claim forms. Whether a claim is paid or rejected turns on five program-specific variables: (1) whether the card had to be active before the fill date or qualifies under a pre-enrollment lookback window; (2) whether every required field appears on the itemized pharmacy receipt or Explanation of Benefits (EOB); (3) which event starts the filing clock; (4) which third-party processor receives the packet; and (5) whether government coverage, health-account funds, or plan accumulator rules disqualify the fill.
When the Card Fails at the Counter, a Claim — Not a New Discount — Is the Fallback
Point-of-sale copay card processing fails for reasons the program documents themselves anticipate: the pharmacy does not participate in the card program (Pfizer’s Velsipity terms), a pharmacy-claims outage stops cards from processing (Lilly created its PTR process during the Change Healthcare cyberattack), the patient’s card information is not available at purchase (Biocon’s YESINTEK form), or the patient pays before enrolling (Dupixent MyWay’s FAQ). Lilly’s PTR sheet also tells patients to keep the card’s BIN, group, PCN, and ID numbers at hand, because those are the identifiers the pharmacy needs to bill the card. Once the patient has paid and left the counter, the fallback these programs publish is a post-transaction claim to the program itself.
At that point, recovery shifts from real-time secondary claim adjudication to a document review administered by the manufacturer's hub or copay vendor (such as EVERSANA, TrialCard, ConnectiveRx, or McKesson's MPRS reimbursement portal). Across the eleven manufacturer portfolios examined, programs divide into four distinct operational routes:
Post-Transaction Reimbursement (PTR): Used by Eli Lilly's Simplified PTR Copay Claims Process and Lilly's Zepbound Self-Pay KwikPen Savings Card Program. PTR is designed specifically for transactions where an already-activated card could not be processed or verified at the participating pharmacy counter. Under Lilly's general PTR process sheet (originally issued during the Change Healthcare pharmacy switch disruption), the patient must hold an activated savings card before the date of service.
Direct Member Reimbursement (DMR) and Portal Rebate Routes: Used by Gilead Advancing Access, Sanofi and Regeneron's DUPIXENT MyWay, and ViiV Healthcare's ViiVConnect Savings Card for Oral Medicines. Gilead directs currently enrolled commercial patients who paid out of pocket to verify eligibility through its DMR portal. Dupixent MyWay defines two qualifying scenarios in its published program FAQs: when the patient's health plan did not accept the copay card, or when the patient paid a copay before enrolling in Dupixent MyWay.
Non-Participating Pharmacy Rebate Requests: Used by Pfizer's Velsipity (etrasimod) Copay Savings Program and Biocon Biologics' My Biocon Biologics YESINTEK (ustekinumab-kfce) Copay Program. Pfizer's terms specify that if a pharmacy does not participate in the copay card program, the patient may submit a completed rebate request form with the original dated, store-identified receipt to recover the eligible copay value.
Medical-Benefit and Provider-Administered Claims (insurer EOB, often with CMS-1500 / UB-04): Used for provider-administered or specialty-routed therapies including ViiVConnect for CABENUVA and APRETUDE, Lundbeck's Vyepti Connect, BMS Access Support Co-Pay Assistance, Merck's KEYTRUDA Co-Pay Assistance Program, Genentech's VENCLEXTA Co-Pay Program, and Novartis's Pluvicto Co-Pay Program. When a therapy is billed under the medical benefit (or routed across pharmacy and medical channels, as analyzed in our guide to pharmacy versus medical benefit routing and cost-sharing), a pharmacy register slip does not document the claim. These programs ask for the primary insurer’s EOB or remittance advice (Genentech’s VENCLEXTA page does not itemize its document list) plus, depending on the program, a CMS-1500 or UB-04 claim form or proof of payment to the provider.
Crucially, not every program permits retroactive enrollment. While Dupixent MyWay explicitly lists paying a copay prior to enrollment as an eligible scenario, and ViiVConnect, Genentech's VENCLEXTA program, and Merck's KEYTRUDA program publish formal pre-enrollment lookback windows, Lilly's commercial PTR process explicitly requires an activated savings card prior to the service date, and Gilead's DMR instructions address currently enrolled patients. Treating every copay program as retroactively claimable after an unenrolled fill means filing claims the published terms do not support.
The Claim Package: What Each Program Requires You to Submit
One failure mode is explicit in the published forms: a credit-card slip or cash-register receipt on its own does not document a copay claim. Read together, the required documents establish four facts: that the drug was dispensed to the enrolled patient, that primary commercial insurance adjudicated the claim (or that a specific self-pay card rule applied), that the amount claimed is the patient’s actual cost-sharing rather than an uncovered cash price, and that no other payer has paid or will pay the same expense.
Two manufacturer forms illustrate the exact level of granularity required for retail and specialty pharmacy claims:
Eli Lilly Simplified PTR Receipt Standard: Under Lilly's Simplified PTR Message, the packet mailed to EVERSANA must include five core artifacts: (1) the completed PTR form, (2) the original itemized pharmacy receipt, (3) the original cash-register receipt, (4) a copy of the primary commercial insurance card, and (5) the activated savings card, submitted in the manner the form requires. The itemized pharmacy receipt must display ten specific fields: patient name, patient address, patient phone number, Rx number, date filled, drug name, drug strength, NDC number, quantity, and the out-of-pocket expense paid.
Biocon Biologics YESINTEK Receipt & Mail-Order EOB Standard: Under the My Biocon Biologics YESINTEK Reimbursement Request Form (1YES-2025-00097-US V2, dated 2025), the patient must submit the signed form, copies of the front and back of the primary medical/Rx insurance card, and the original pharmacy receipt or invoice showing: patient name and address; pharmacy name, address, and phone number; prescriber name, address, and phone number; Rx number; fill date; drug name, strength, NDC number, and quantity; overall prescription price; and the copay/out-of-pocket amount paid. For mail-order or specialty pharmacy fills, Biocon additionally mandates a copy of the primary insurer's EOB. The form warns explicitly: "Failure to include any of the following will result in claim rejection."
For provider-administered medical-benefit therapies, the evidence package shifts from pharmacy bag tags to institutional billing records. BMS Access Support's portal FAQs and BMS Check Request Form (NO-US-2600250, dated 9/26) require the CMS-1500 or UB-04 claim form plus a detailed EOB showing the insurance carrier name and logo, plan name, date of service, procedure or product code (CPT or HCPCS J-code), and the patient's financial responsibility after insurance is applied. Importantly, if the reimbursement check is requested payable to the patient (or anyone other than the healthcare provider), BMS requires a copy of the payment receipt confirming the patient already paid the provider. Novartis's Pluvicto Co-Pay Claim Request Form (310256, dated 10/23) enforces the same rule: claims require the insurer EOB, front and back copies of the insurance card(s), and proof of payment when requesting payback, stating plainly that "If any of the above is missing, the claim will not be paid."
Table 1 compares the route classification, enrollment prerequisites, required submission artifacts, and published annual or program benefit limits across all 13 reviewed manufacturer program pathways as of October 15, 2026.
| Manufacturer & Program | Route Type & Scope | Enrollment / Activation Rule | Required Evidence Package | Published Cap / Patient Share (As of Oct 15, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eli Lilly — Commercial Brand PTR (Simplified PTR Sheet) | Post-Transaction Reimbursement (PTR) for commercial copay cards not honored at pharmacy | Savings card must be activated before the date of service | Completed PTR form; original pharmacy receipt (name, address, phone, Rx#, fill date, drug, strength, NDC, qty, OOP paid); original cash-register receipt; primary insurance card copy; activated savings card (as the form requires) | Subject to each Lilly brand's commercial savings card terms and annual maximum |
| Eli Lilly — Zepbound KwikPen Self-Pay Card | Self-Pay Savings Card PTR (specific to single-patient-use KwikPen; not commercial card) | Activated Self-Pay Savings Card; applies only when Lilly could not verify fill at POS within 45-day window | Patient name, DOB, address; copy of activated Self-Pay Savings Card information; original pharmacy receipt | Reimburses difference between amount paid and verified self-pay program price within 45-day fill window |
| Gilead Sciences — Advancing Access Co-Pay Program | Direct Member Reimbursement (DMR) via online DMR portal | Directed to currently enrolled commercial patients who paid out of pocket | Submitted through the online DMR site linked from the program page (the public page does not itemize required documents; verify on the DMR site) | Annual caps: Sunlenca $9,600; Bixlenvo $8,500; Yeztugo $8,000; Biktarvy/Descovy/Genvoya/Truvada $7,200; Odefsey/Stribild/Complera $6,000; Emtriva $3,600; Tybost $600 (accumulator plans may cut to $25/claim) |
| Sanofi / Regeneron — DUPIXENT MyWay Copay Card | Online or phone reimbursement request | Covers two stated situations: health plan did not accept card, or copay paid before enrolling in MyWay | Online request at patientrebateonline.com, linked from the FAQ; document list not itemized on the public FAQ (DUPIXENT MyWay: 1-844-387-4936) | Subject to per-patient calendar-year program maximum |
| ViiV Healthcare — ViiVConnect Copay Program (March 2026 Terms) | Pharmacy claim route and medical-benefit secondary claim route (CABENUVA / APRETUDE) | Covers eligible OOP costs incurred up to 180 calendar days prior to enrollment date | Medical claims: primary commercial claim first, then standard CMS-1500 with commercial EOB attached. Incomplete requests ineligible | Annual limits: Cabenuva $13,000; Apretude $7,850; Rukobia $7,500; Triumeq/PD $7,500; Dovato $6,250; Juluca $6,250; Tivicay/PD $5,000 |
| ViiV Healthcare — ViiVConnect Oral Medicine Card Portal | Online Reimbursement Form (McKesson MPRS) when retail/mail pharmacy does not accept card | Enrolled cardholder who has not capped out annual maximum benefit | Online Reimbursement Form, medicine receipt, medicine label, and insurance card copy | Subject to oral brand annual maximum (patients who have capped out maximum benefit are ineligible) |
| Lundbeck — Vyepti Connect (EPT-B-100818v4) | Provider or direct patient copay claim (medical infusion) | Commercial coverage of Vyepti, age 17+, enrolled in program | Copy of CMS-1500 or UB-04 claim form plus Explanation of Payment (EOP) or EOB from commercial insurer(s) | Calendar-year cap set by Lundbeck; covers up to $200 in infusion administration costs per infusion (except MA, MN, RI) |
| Bristol Myers Squibb — BMS Access Support & Check Request (9/26) | Electronic (EDI/portal) or paper Check Request Form for provider or patient payback | Enrolled patient with out-of-pocket costs for a BMS medication that insurance did not cover | CMS-1500/UB-04 + detailed EOB (carrier name/logo, plan, DOS, CPT/HCPCS J-code, patient responsibility). Payback to non-provider also requires payment receipt | Subject to product-specific BMS Access Support co-pay program terms and annual cap |
| Merck — KEYTRUDA / KEYTRUDA QLEX Co-Pay Program | Co-pay assistance claim (medical or pharmacy benefit) | Includes 90-Day Lookback Period prior to eligibility start (not for KEYTRUDA QLEX administered before its initial FDA approval) | Insurer documentation (EOB or remittance advice) showing patient OOP cost, administration date, and separate product payment | Patient pays first $25 per administration; $25,000 maximum per eligibility period (term: Sept 23, 2025 – Sept 30, 2027) |
| Genentech — VENCLEXTA Co-Pay Program | Co-pay assistance claim via copayassistancenow.com | Once enrolled, honors claims with date of service up to 180 days prior to enrollment date | Submitted via program portal (exact document list managed inside copayassistancenow.com) | Up to $25,000 per calendar year; benefit resets every January 1 |
| Novartis — Pluvicto Co-Pay Claim Form (10/23) | Mail or fax Co-Pay Claim Request Form | Enrolled privately insured patient; signed claimant certification | Insurer EOB, front and back copies of insurance card(s), and proof of payment (receipt required if requesting payback) | Patient pays first $25; up to $15,000 maximum over the course of treatment |
| Biocon Biologics — YESINTEK Copay Form (2025 V2) | Mail or fax Copay Program Reimbursement Request Form | Pharmacy did not accept card or patient card info was unavailable at purchase | Signed form; front/back primary insurance card; original receipt/invoice with patient, pharmacy, and prescriber details, Rx#, fill date, drug, strength, NDC, qty, total price, OOP paid; EOB required for mail/specialty | Subject to YESINTEK commercial copay program annual terms |
| Pfizer — Velsipity Copay Savings Rebate (March 2025) | Mail-in Rebate Request when pharmacy does not participate (plus separate baseline-assessment reimbursement) | Commercially insured eligible patient; program and rebate expire December 31, 2026 | Completed rebate request form (at VELSIPITY.com) + original, dated, store-identified prescription receipt (not returned). Baseline assessment requires EOB + payment receipts | Maximum benefit of $4,000 to $16,000 per calendar year; one-time baseline-assessment reimbursement up to $2,500 (excluding MN and RI) |
Filing Windows That Decide Whether the Claim Is Paid
Even when a patient or clinic assembles every required receipt and EOB, a claim filed after the program's published filing clock expires falls outside its terms. A critical operational insight for market-access and hub teams is that "180 days" does not mean the same thing across manufacturers. Depending on the program, the countdown clock starts on one of four distinct dates — or is governed by a fixed calendar expiration date:
Date of Service (DOS) / Fill Date Clock: Under ViiVConnect's March 2026 Eligibility Requirements, pharmacy claims must be submitted within 180 calendar days of the date of service. Similarly, Lundbeck's Vyepti Connect overview mandates that copay claims be submitted within 180 days of the patient's date of service. Genentech's VENCLEXTA Co-Pay Program allows a wider window: claims must be submitted within 365 days from the date of service unless otherwise indicated.
Explanation of Benefits (EOB) Date Clock: Under BMS Access Support's Co-Pay Assistance FAQs (verified via portal retrieval on October 15, 2026), claims must be submitted within 180 days from the date of the Explanation of Benefits (EOB). Because an EOB exists only after the primary insurer has adjudicated the claim, an EOB-date clock starts later than a date-of-service clock for the same administration.
Insurer Claim-Processing Date Clock: Under Merck's Access Program for KEYTRUDA, insurer documentation (EOB or remittance advice) must be submitted within 180 days of the date the claim was processed by the insurer. Merck adds a hard backstop: no claims may be submitted more than 180 days after the program's expiration (current term runs September 23, 2025 through September 30, 2027).
Insurance Payment Date Clock: While ViiVConnect gives retail/specialty pharmacy fills 180 calendar days from the date of service, ViiVConnect's rules for provider-administered CABENUVA and APRETUDE medical claims require submission within 365 calendar days of insurance payment. Thus, even within a single manufacturer's HIV portfolio, the filing clock changes both its length (180 vs. 365 days) and its trigger event (date of service vs. insurance payment date) depending on whether the claim adjudicates as a pharmacy or medical claim.
Fixed Calendar Cutoffs and Program Expirations: Under Lilly's Zepbound Self-Pay KwikPen Savings Card terms, PTR claims do not use a rolling day-count rule; instead, claims must be submitted in the patient portal or postmarked no later than March 31, 2027 (and the underlying point-of-sale fill must have occurred within the program's required 45-day fill timeframe). Meanwhile, Pfizer's Velsipity Copay Savings Program terms state that the card and rebate offer expire on December 31, 2026.
Equally important are pre-enrollment lookback windows — the rules governing whether a patient who paid out of pocket before enrolling in the copay program can claim reimbursement after enrolling. Three programs publish explicit lookback windows: ViiVConnect may apply to eligible out-of-pocket costs incurred within 180 calendar days prior to the enrollment date; Genentech's VENCLEXTA program honors claims with a date of service that precedes the program enrollment date by up to 180 days; and Merck's KEYTRUDA program includes a 90-Day Lookback Period covering product administered up to 90 days prior to the eligibility-period start (though Merck notes that the lookback does not apply to KEYTRUDA QLEX administered before its initial FDA approval date). By contrast, Lilly's commercial PTR process sheet requires card activation prior to the service date.
Where Claims Go and How the Money Comes Back
Submitting a complete packet to the wrong address or portal stalls reimbursement just as effectively as a missing receipt. Manufacturers outsource post-transaction processing to specialized pharmacy and medical claims administrators, and each administrator enforces its own intake channel, payee designation rules, and disbursement timeline:
EVERSANA (Eli Lilly Commercial PTR & Zepbound Self-Pay KwikPen PTR): Paper PTR packets for Lilly commercial brands and mailed Zepbound self-pay KwikPen claims go to
Savings Card Post-Transaction Reimbursement, Attn: PTR Processing, PO BOX 42638, Cincinnati, OH 45242. For the Zepbound self-pay KwikPen card, Lilly also provides an online patient reimbursement portal (eversana-ptr.virtualrx.co). Under Lilly's Simplified PTR sheet, patients should allow several business days for processing and are notified by mail of approval and payment or denial.McKesson MPRS (ViiVConnect Oral Medicine Savings Card): Under ViiV's oral medicine reimbursement instructions (support line
1-866-279-4705), patients upload the online Reimbursement Form, medicine receipt, medicine label, and insurance card through the portal. Requests are reviewed within 10 business days after submission, and approved funds arrive within 2 to 4 weeks via the patient's choice of paper check, Automated Clearing House (ACH) direct deposit, PayPal/Venmo, or virtual debit card.TrialCard (Lundbeck Vyepti Connect): Under Vyepti Connect's program overview, providers can transmit claims electronically via EDI Payer ID
56155, fax to866-218-3479, or mail toVYEPTI CONNECT Copay Assistance Program, 2250 Perimeter Park, Suite 300, Morrisville, NC 27560. If a patient already paid for treatment out of pocket — or the infusion center does not accept direct program payment — the patient may submit the claim directly by mail or fax and receive reimbursement by paper check. Paper checks are issued 2 to 3 weeks after approval (providers also have an Electronic Funds Transfer [EFT] option via InstaMed).ConnectiveRx (BMS Access Support Co-Pay Assistance): Under BMS Access Support's FAQs and Check Request Form (support line
800-488-1056), claims can be submitted via EDI Payer IDPSKW0, the provider portal (BMSCopay.com), fax to1-800-826-8894, or mail toPO Box 2355, Morristown, NJ 07962. The Check Request Form requires selecting the payee (patient, provider, or other) and includes a mandatory patient signature. Once a claim is approved, the provider’s office receives ACH payment within 5 to 7 days (depending on the bank) or a paper check within 7 to 10 business days; checks go to the address on the CMS-1500 or UB-04 unless the Check Request Form designates another payee.Biocon Biologics, Pfizer Velsipity, and Novartis Pluvicto Mail/Fax Channels: Biocon's YESINTEK form is mailed to
My Biocon Biologics, 6931 Arlington Road, Suite 400, Bethesda, MD 20814or faxed to1-833-726-4848(phone1-833-612-4626), with check processing taking 6 to 8 weeks. Pfizer's Velsipity rebate requests (support line800-350-3080) also mail rebate checks approximately 6 to 8 weeks after documentation is received, and original receipts are not returned. Novartis's Pluvicto claims go by mail toNovartis Patient Support Co-pay Program, 77 Corporate Dr, Bridgewater, NJ 08807or fax to1-631-822-2893, and pay by check to the patient or doctor's office.
Table 2 summarizes the exact filing clocks, pre-enrollment lookback rules, processor intake channels, and disbursement timelines across these programs.
| Program | Filing Clock & Trigger Event | Pre-Enrollment Lookback | Administrator & Submission Channel | Payment Method & Turnaround |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lilly Commercial PTR | No day-count deadline stated on Simplified PTR sheet (confirm current brand rule) | None — card must be activated before service date | EVERSANA: Mail to PO Box 42638, Cincinnati, OH 45242 | Notified by mail of approval and payment or denial |
| Lilly Zepbound Self-Pay KwikPen PTR | Fixed cutoff: submitted or postmarked by March 31, 2027 (for fills within 45-day POS window) | No lookback stated; activated Self-Pay Savings Card required | EVERSANA: Portal (eversana-ptr.virtualrx.co) or mail to PO Box 42638, Cincinnati, OH 45242 | Portal or mail reimbursement per self-pay card terms |
| ViiVConnect (Pharmacy vs. Medical) | Pharmacy: 180 calendar days from Date of Service. Medical (CABENUVA/APRETUDE): 365 calendar days from insurance payment | Up to 180 calendar days prior to enrollment date | ViiVConnect hub (CMS-1500 + commercial EOB for medical claims) | Program benefit payment per ViiVConnect terms |
| ViiVConnect Oral Card Portal | No deadline stated on portal instructions page (confirm with 1-866-279-4705); note 180-day DOS rule in ViiVConnect PDF | See ViiVConnect 180-day pre-enrollment rule | McKesson MPRS: Online upload at myviivcard.com/reimbursement-instructions | Reviewed in 10 business days; paid in 2–4 weeks via check, ACH, PayPal/Venmo, or virtual debit card |
| Lundbeck Vyepti Connect | 180 days from patient's Date of Service | Not stated in overview PDF | TrialCard: EDI Payer ID 56155, fax 866-218-3479, or mail to Morrisville, NC 27560 | Paper check in 2–3 weeks after approval (to patient or provider), or EFT via InstaMed for providers |
| BMS Access Support | 180 days from the date of the Explanation of Benefits (EOB) | Not stated on FAQ/form | ConnectiveRx: EDI Payer ID PSKW0, BMSCopay.com portal, fax 1-800-826-8894, or mail to PO Box 2355, Morristown, NJ 07962 | To the provider’s office after approval: ACH in 5–7 days, paper check in 7–10 business days; other payees via the Check Request Form |
| Merck KEYTRUDA Co-Pay Program | 180 days from the date the claim was processed by the insurer (and no later than 180 days after the September 30, 2027 program expiry) | 90-Day Lookback Period prior to eligibility start (not for KEYTRUDA QLEX administered before its initial FDA approval) | Channel not listed on the terms page; contact The Merck Access Program (855-257-3932) | Program co-pay assistance after first $25 patient responsibility |
| Genentech VENCLEXTA Co-Pay | 365 days from Date of Service (unless otherwise indicated) | Up to 180 days prior to program enrollment date | copayassistancenow.com portal | Program co-pay assistance up to $25,000/calendar year |
| Novartis Pluvicto Co-Pay | No deadline stated on 10/23 form (confirm current rule before filing) | Not stated on 10/23 form | Mail to 77 Corporate Dr, Bridgewater, NJ 08807, or fax 1-631-822-2893 | Reimbursement sent via check to patient or doctor's office |
| Biocon YESINTEK Copay | No deadline stated on 2025 V2 form (confirm via 1-833-612-4626) | Covers purchase where card was not accepted or info unavailable at purchase | Mail to 6931 Arlington Rd, Suite 400, Bethesda, MD 20814, or fax 1-833-726-4848 | Processed within 6–8 weeks; paid by check |
| Pfizer Velsipity Rebate | Program and rebate expire December 31, 2026 (no separate day-count window stated) | Not stated in terms | Rebate form at VELSIPITY.com mailed with original store-identified receipt (support: 800-350-3080) | Rebate mailed in approx. 6–8 weeks after documentation received |
| Dupixent MyWay & Gilead DMR | No filing deadline published on public FAQ/card page (confirm directly with program) | Dupixent covers copay paid before enrolling; Gilead DMR requires current enrollment | Dupixent: online request at patientrebateonline.com. Gilead: DMR site linked from the program page | Per program reimbursement portal terms |
Who Cannot Use These Routes at All
Before investing staff or patient time in assembling receipts and EOBs, access teams must screen out five hard disqualifier categories embedded across primary manufacturer terms. Submitting a claim under several of these exclusions is not merely futile — on forms like Novartis's Pluvicto request, it violates an explicit signed claimant certification.
1. Government-Insured Beneficiaries (Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, VA, DoD)
Every commercial copay reimbursement route reviewed — across Dupixent MyWay, Gilead Advancing Access, ViiVConnect, Biocon YESINTEK, Novartis Pluvicto, Merck KEYTRUDA, Genentech VENCLEXTA, Lundbeck Vyepti, and Pfizer Velsipity — excludes patients covered by federal or state healthcare programs, but the named lists differ. All nine name Medicare, Medicaid, and TRICARE, and most also name Veterans Affairs (VA) and Department of Defense (DoD) coverage. Individual terms add Medicare Part D or Medicare Advantage plans (Gilead, ViiV, Merck, Biocon), Medigap (ViiV, Biocon, Vyepti), CHAMPUS (Merck), Puerto Rico’s government health plan (Gilead, ViiV, Merck, Pfizer, Biocon), and state pharmaceutical assistance programs (Dupixent, ViiV, Biocon, Pfizer, Merck). ViiV, Biocon, and Vyepti also exclude Medicare-eligible patients enrolled in an employer-sponsored retiree health or drug plan. Gilead’s program page lists the Federal Employees Health Benefits (FEHB) Program among excluded coverages, whereas Dupixent MyWay counts federal and state employee plans as commercial insurance under its card rules, which is why plan-type nuances must be verified brand by brand.
Government-insured patients who paid out of pocket at the pharmacy cannot use commercial PTR, DMR, or copay rebate routes. Instead, access teams should route those beneficiaries to free-drug Patient Assistance Programs (PAPs), independent 501(c)(3) copay foundations, or statutory Medicare benefit structures — workflows we detail in our guides to Medicare patient assistance program eligibility, matching income documentation to manufacturer PAP applications, and the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge model and Part D out-of-pocket cap mechanics.
2. Uninsured and Cash-Paying Patients (and the Single Documented Exception)
Standard commercial copay programs require both valid commercial insurance and primary plan coverage of the prescribed drug. Under ViiVConnect, Biocon YESINTEK, Novartis Pluvicto, Lundbeck Vyepti, and Pfizer Velsipity, uninsured or cash-paying patients are ineligible, and ViiV, Biocon, Pluvicto, and Vyepti also exclude commercially insured patients whose plan does not cover the drug. Similarly, Velsipity’s rebate is limited to the copay value and cannot be used where insurance already reimburses the entire cost, just as Pluvicto’s program is invalid where the plan reimburses 100% of the cost.
The sole documented cash-pay exception in this cohort is Lilly's Zepbound single-patient-use KwikPen Self-Pay Savings Card Program. That card is specifically constructed for self-pay patients and includes its own PTR route (through March 31, 2027) covering the difference between what the patient paid and what they would have paid had Lilly verified an eligible fill at point of sale within the required 45-day fill timeframe. Crucially, the commercial Zepbound savings card terms on the very same page contain no PTR provision. Conflating the Zepbound self-pay KwikPen PTR with ordinary commercial copay cards — or advising uninsured patients on other brands to file copay reimbursement claims — misstates both sets of terms.
3. Fills Paid With FSA, HSA, or HRA Funds
A patient whose copay card fails at the counter may reach for a Flexible Spending Account (FSA), Health Savings Account (HSA), or Health Reimbursement Account (HRA) card. Under Lilly’s Simplified PTR rules, fills paid with FSA, HSA, or HRA funds are explicitly not eligible for Post-Transaction Reimbursement. Gilead’s Savings Program terms likewise state that the program will not reimburse payments made by an FSA, HSA, HRA, or any other payor. Novartis’s Pluvicto claim form requires the claimant to sign a certification that the claimed expenses were not and will not be paid by insurance, an FSA, an HSA, or any other payer, and Genentech’s VENCLEXTA terms exclude patients receiving help from a charitable organization for the same expenses. Under these terms, a fill paid from a tax-advantaged health account is not eligible for reimbursement through those programs.
4. Copay Accumulators, Maximizers, and Alternative Funding Programs (AFPs)
Even when a patient holds commercial insurance, health-plan benefit design clauses targeting manufacturer assistance can reduce or void post-transaction recovery. Across our reviewed primary sources:
Gilead Advancing Access stipulates that if a patient's commercial plan uses a copay accumulator adjustment program, Gilead may reduce assistance to a per-claim maximum of $25, and if the plan uses a copay maximizer program, Gilead may reduce or discontinue assistance.
ViiVConnect, Biocon YESINTEK, and Pfizer Velsipity include terms that either reduce assistance or exclude members whose plans apply accumulator or maximizer diversion rules.
Lilly's Zepbound savings terms make patients ineligible when their plan participates in an alternate funding program (AFP) that requires them to apply to the Zepbound savings card program, or to pursue coverage through an alternate funding vendor, as a condition of Zepbound coverage. Lilly’s PTR sheet separately excludes fills where the insurer prohibits participation in the program.
When a post-transaction claim is capped or rejected due to plan accumulator or maximizer flags, or when a patient exhausts their card's annual cap mid-year, teams should consult our operational analyses on copay accumulator and maximizer monitoring for manufacturer support teams, specialty-drug copay accumulator appeal workflows, and what happens when a copay card's annual maximum is reached.
5. 340B-Dispensed Product and State-Specific Carve-Outs
Program terms also enforce channel and geographic boundaries: Biocon’s YESINTEK reimbursement form explicitly excludes product dispensed by a 340B covered entity that bought it at 340B pricing. At the state level, ViiVConnect and Lundbeck’s Vyepti Connect bar patients in Massachusetts, Minnesota, and Rhode Island from assistance with injection (ViiV) or infusion (Vyepti) administration costs, Gilead applies the same three-state carve-out to Sunlenca and Yeztugo injection administration, and Biocon excludes Rhode Island and Massachusetts residents from injection administration support; Pfizer’s Velsipity terms exclude residents of Minnesota and Rhode Island from the one-time $2,500 baseline-assessment reimbursement; and Merck’s KEYTRUDA terms note that, subject to changes in state law, the program may become invalid for Massachusetts residents before its expiration date.
flowchart TD
A["Patient Paid Out of Pocket for Prescription Fill or Administration"] --> B{"What is the patient's primary coverage?"}
B --> |"Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, VA, DoD, or Uninsured"| C["STOP: Commercial Copay Routes Closed"]
C --> C1["Route to Manufacturer PAP, 501(c)(3) Foundation, or Zepbound Self-Pay KwikPen PTR if applicable"]
B --> |"Commercial / Private Insurance Covering the Drug"| D{"Was the fill paid with FSA, HSA, or HRA funds?"}
D --> |"Yes (Lilly PTR, Gilead, Pluvicto terms)"| E["Not eligible under those health-account exclusions (confirm with the program)"]
D --> |"No (Paid with personal card, cash, or check)"| F{"Was the patient enrolled / card active before the Date of Service?"}
F --> |"Yes"| G{"Is the drug billed under Pharmacy or Medical Benefit?"}
F --> |"No"| H{"Does the named program allow pre-enrollment fills?"}
H --> |"Yes (e.g., ViiV 180d, Venclexta 180d, Merck 90d, Dupixent MyWay)"| G
H --> |"No (e.g., Lilly Commercial PTR requires prior activation)"| I["Ineligible for retroactive PTR; activate card for future fills"]
G --> |"Pharmacy Benefit (Retail / Mail / Specialty)"| J["Assemble Itemized Pharmacy Receipt (Name, Rx#, Date, Drug, Strength, NDC, Qty, OOP Paid) + Register Receipt + Insurance & Copay Card Copies + Mail-Order EOB"]
G --> |"Medical Benefit (Provider-Administered)"| K["Assemble Primary Insurer EOB (showing DOS, J-Code/CPT, Patient Responsibility) + CMS-1500/UB-04 + Payment Receipt if Pay-to-Patient"]
J --> L["Verify Program Filing Clock (180d DOS, 365d DOS, Fixed Cutoff, or Call if Unpublished) & Submit to Designated Processor"]
K --> M["Verify Program Filing Clock (180d DOS, 180d EOB Date, 180d Processed Date, or 365d Insurer Payment Date) & Submit via EDI/Portal/Mail/Fax"]Checklist Before the Patient Leaves the Pharmacy
Because manufacturer processors reject incomplete packets outright ("Failure to include any of the following will result in claim rejection" on Biocon's form; "If any of the above is missing, the claim will not be paid" on Novartis's form) and Pfizer's Velsipity rebate program does not return original receipts, patients and clinic access coordinators should execute a standardized seven-step verification checklist before walking away from the pharmacy counter or closing out a medical-benefit billing cycle. Where prior authorization delays caused the counter rejection in the first place, coordinate this checklist with your integrated prior authorization and patient assistance workflow.
| Step | Operational Action | Exact Artifact / Fields to Verify | Audit Failure Prevented |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Confirm Enrollment & Activation Timestamp | Verify that the manufacturer copay card is enrolled and activated before paying at the register, or confirm the brand publishes a pre-enrollment lookback window. | Saved confirmation screen or active Member ID / Group / BIN / PCN card image; check if program requires pre-service activation (Lilly PTR) vs. lookback (ViiV/VENCLEXTA 180d, Merck 90d, Dupixent MyWay). | Avoids filing under Lilly’s commercial PTR process, which requires card activation before the service date. |
| 2. Request Secondary Re-Transmission First | Ask the pharmacist to run the primary commercial insurance first and transmit the copay card as secondary Coordination of Benefits (COB) using the exact BIN, PCN, Group, and Member ID. | Verify that primary commercial insurance adjudicated as covered (not cash/uninsured or PA-denied). | Gives the pharmacy a chance to process the card before a post-transaction claim is needed, and confirms the primary commercial coverage prerequisite. |
| 3. Pay With Personal Funds (Avoid FSA/HSA/HRA) | If paying out of pocket is unavoidable, use a personal credit card, debit card, check, or cash rather than an FSA, HSA, or HRA card. | Register tender type showing personal payment card or cash. | Avoids the FSA/HSA/HRA exclusions in Lilly’s PTR process and Gilead’s terms, and the non-FSA/HSA certification on Novartis’s Pluvicto form. |
| 4. Collect Both the Itemized Pharmacy Receipt and Register Receipt | Never leave with only the credit-card terminal slip. Request the full itemized prescription leaflet/receipt stapled to the dispensing bag plus the dated store register receipt. | Verify 10 core fields: (1) Patient name, (2) Address/phone, (3) Pharmacy name/address/phone, (4) Prescriber info, (5) Rx number, (6) Fill date, (7) Drug name & strength, (8) NDC, (9) Quantity, (10) Total price & OOP paid. Keep medicine label for ViiV oral card. | Covers the receipt fields itemized by Lilly PTR and Biocon YESINTEK, and the original receipt Pfizer Velsipity and the ViiV oral card require. |
| 5. Obtain the Primary Insurer EOB (and CMS-1500/UB-04 for Medical Claims) | For mail-order/specialty pharmacy fills (Biocon) or any provider-administered drug (BMS, Vyepti, ViiV medical, KEYTRUDA, Pluvicto), download the primary commercial EOB once processed. | BMS defines a detailed EOB as showing carrier name/logo, plan name, Date of Service, CPT/HCPCS code, and patient responsibility; Merck also requires patient and plan IDs and proof the product was billed separately. Include the clinic payment receipt if requesting a check payable to the patient (BMS, Pluvicto). | Prevents medical-benefit and mail-order claim rejection for missing insurer adjudication proof. |
| 6. Copy Both Sides of Cards and Retain Full Backups | Photocopy or photograph the front and back of the primary insurance card, Rx card, and activated copay card, and scan all original receipts before mailing. | High-resolution copies of front/back insurance cards + full scan of signed claim form and original receipts. | Protects against lost mail: Lilly PTR, Biocon, and Pfizer Velsipity require original receipts, and Velsipity states receipts will not be returned. |
| 7. Calendar the Exact Program Clock (or Call to Confirm) | Log the exact trigger date (DOS, EOB date, insurer processing date, or insurer payment date) and calculate the submission deadline. | 180d DOS (ViiV Rx, Vyepti); 180d EOB (BMS); 180d processed (KEYTRUDA); 365d DOS (VENCLEXTA); 365d payment (ViiV medical); Dec 31, 2026 (Velsipity); Mar 31, 2027 (Zepbound self-pay KwikPen). Call support if unpublished. | Prevents missing program-specific filing cutoffs or assuming a 180-day window where none is published. |
Methodological Limits and Verification Triggers
Teams operationalizing these workflows should account for four structural boundaries in the public evidence base:
Sample Scope vs. Market Census: The eleven manufacturer portfolios analyzed here represent major commercial archetypes across immunology, HIV, oncology, neurology, hematology, and metabolic disease as of October 15, 2026, but they do not constitute a census of all U.S. specialty drugs. Every brand's specific contract controls.
Document Version and Portal Dynamism: Several manufacturer forms in active distribution carry historical version dates — such as Novartis's Pluvicto form (dated 10/23), Lundbeck's Vyepti overview (© 2024, EPT-B-100818v4), Pfizer's Velsipity terms (dated March 2025, expiring December 31, 2026), Biocon's YESINTEK form (2025 V2), BMS's check request form (dated 9/26), and Lilly's undated Simplified PTR sheet from the Change Healthcare outage period. Furthermore, portals such as Gilead's DMR site and Genentech's
copayassistancenow.comhouse detailed submission fields behind interactive logins.Calendar-Year Resets and Program Expirations: Annual benefit caps and eligibility rules frequently reset on January 1 (such as Genentech's VENCLEXTA calendar-year maximum reset), while fixed-term programs expire on scheduled dates (December 31, 2026 for Pfizer's Velsipity rebate; March 31, 2027 for Lilly's Zepbound self-pay KwikPen PTR; September 30, 2027 for Merck's KEYTRUDA co-pay term).
No Guarantee of Claim Approval: Meeting documentary and deadline requirements qualifies a submission for processor review under published program rules, but final reimbursement remains subject to remaining annual cap balance, primary commercial coverage verification, and accumulator/maximizer plan checks.
Sources
DUPIXENT (dupilumab) Frequently Asked Questions — cost, savings and the MyWay copay card — Sanofi and Regeneron (dupixent.com) (accessed 2026-10-15).
Gilead Advancing Access Co-pay Savings Program — Gilead Sciences (gileadadvancingaccess.com) (accessed 2026-10-15).
Lilly Post-Transaction Reimbursement Copay Claims Process (Simplified PTR Message) — Eli Lilly and Company (accessed 2026-10-15).
Savings & Insurance Options — Zepbound (tirzepatide), Self-Pay Savings Card Program terms — Eli Lilly and Company (zepbound.lilly.com) (accessed 2026-10-15).
My Biocon Biologics — YESINTEK (ustekinumab-kfce) Copay Program Enrollment and Reimbursement Request Form (1YES-2025-00097-US V2) — Biocon Biologics (accessed 2026-10-15).
PLUVICTO Co-pay Claim Request Form — Novartis Patient Support Co-pay Program (310256, 10/23) — Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation (pluvicto-hcp.com) (accessed 2026-10-15).
ViiVConnect Copay Program — Eligibility Requirements and Restrictions (March 2026) — ViiV Healthcare (accessed 2026-10-15).
Reimbursement Instructions — ViiVConnect Savings Card for Oral Medicines — ViiV Healthcare (savings-card administrator portal, McKesson MPRS) (accessed 2026-10-15).
VYEPTI CONNECT Copay Assistance Program Overview (EPT-B-100818v4) — Lundbeck Seattle BioPharmaceuticals (accessed 2026-10-15).
FAQs — BMS Access Support Co-Pay Assistance Program — Bristol Myers Squibb (co-pay portal, administered with ConnectiveRx) (accessed 2026-10-15).
BMS Access Support Co-Pay Assistance Check Request Form (NO-US-2600250 9/26) — Bristol Myers Squibb (form hosted by ConnectiveRx) (accessed 2026-10-15).
The Merck Access Program for KEYTRUDA (pembrolizumab) — affordability and Co-pay Assistance Program terms — Merck & Co. (merckaccessprogram-keytruda.com) (accessed 2026-10-15).
Financial Assistance Options — VENCLEXTA (venetoclax) co-pay program terms — Genentech (Venclexta co-pay program via copayassistancenow.com) (accessed 2026-10-15).
VELSIPITY (etrasimod) Copay Savings Program — Full Terms and Conditions including Copay Savings Card Rebate terms (March 2025) — Pfizer (accessed 2026-10-15).
Manufacturer Copay Cards: Everything You Need to Know — GoodRx (accessed 2026-10-15).




