PharmaDossier
Pricing & Access

Copay Assistance Limits: What Happens When the Annual Maximum Is Reached?

When a copay card's annual maximum exhausts, manufacturer support stops and patient exposure depends on three distinct reset clocks, plan accumulator rules, and foundation options.

Ran Chen
Ran Chen
23 min read · Published · Source-cited

What the annual maximum actually is, and where it is written

When a manufacturer copay assistance program reaches its annual maximum, the program stops paying further assistance under that maximum, and the commercially insured patient owes the cost sharing the health plan assigns until the program's own terms allow assistance again. That date is in the program terms. It is not the plan year, and it is not safe to assume January 1. In specialty pharmacy operations this event is often handled as if it were an insurance denial or a formulary change. It is neither. The annual maximum is a term in the manufacturer's own terms and conditions.

For market-access, hub, and specialty-pharmacy teams, three documents decide what the exhaustion means: the program terms, the plan's copay-adjustment design, and the federal-program boundary in those terms plus OIG and CMS guidance. The terms set the dollar cap, any monthly cap, the benefit period, and who pays after the cap. Amounts read on September 30, 2026 ranged from $600 per calendar year, with a $50 monthly maximum, on Gilead's TYBOST terms, to $25,000 per calendar year on ADC Therapeutics' ZYNLONTA terms. Every one of those programs says the figures can change.

The programs checked here are commercial-coverage offers. They exclude prescriptions paid by government programs. Gilead names Medicare, Medicare Part D, Medicaid, the Federal Employees Health Benefits Program, and VA/TRICARE, and it requires a patient who begins receiving government-program prescription benefits to notify Gilead, after which the savings program ends. Amgen says its co-pay program is not valid when Medicare, Medicaid, or any other federal or state program pays for the prescription in whole or in part. ADC and Gilead also reserve the right to change or end benefits without notice. Record the as-of date with every maximum and every benefit-period sentence. A notice duty in program terms is a condition of the offer, not a separate statute.

Program & ManufacturerTarget ProductStated Annual MaximumBenefit Clock ArchitectureExplicit Post-Maximum Responsibility Clause
ADVANCING Patient Support (ADC Therapeutics)ZYNLONTA (loncastuximab tesirine-lpyl)$25,000 per calendar yearFixed calendar year (January 1 through December 31)Terms state: 'Enrolled patients are responsible for all copays and any other balances not covered by the Copay Assistance Program.'
Pfizer Dermatology Patient Access (Pfizer)CIBINQO (abrocitinib) / LITFULO (ritlecitinib)$15,000 for the period the terms define as a calendar yearEnrollment year (date of enrollment through December 31 of enrollment year)Terms state: 'After a maximum of $15,000, you will be responsible for paying the remaining monthly out-of-pocket costs.'
Pfizer Dermatology Patient Access (Pfizer)EUCRISA (crisaborole)$3,880 maximum total savings per calendar year, and $970 per tubeStated only as per calendar year. The enrollment-through-December-31 definition is in the CIBINQO and LITFULO paragraphs, not the EUCRISA paragraph.The EUCRISA paragraph does not repeat the CIBINQO sentence on remaining monthly out-of-pocket costs. Covered patients may pay as little as $10 per tube; if the plan does not cover EUCRISA, as little as $100 per tube.
Gilead Advancing Access (Gilead Sciences)Product ladder, including SUNLENCA, BIXLENVO, YEZTUGO, BIKTARVY, DESCOVY, GENVOYA, TRUVADA, ODEFSEY, STRIBILD, COMPLERA, EMTRIVA, and TYBOSTUp to, per calendar year, as of 2026-09-30: SUNLENCA $9,600; BIXLENVO $8,500; YEZTUGO $8,000; BIKTARVY, DESCOVY, GENVOYA, and TRUVADA $7,200; ODEFSEY, STRIBILD, and COMPLERA $6,000; EMTRIVA $3,600 with a $300 monthly maximum; TYBOST $600 with a $50 monthly maximum. YEZTUGO and SUNLENCA include up to $100 per injection-administration visit. The other listed products state no monthly limit.Per calendar year. The page does not print a January 1 through December 31 sentence.No separate post-maximum sentence on the benefits page. Under an accumulator, Gilead may reduce assistance to $25 per claim unless prohibited by law. Under a maximizer, Gilead may discontinue or reduce assistance unless prohibited by law. Benefits can change without notice.
BMS Access Support (Bristol Myers Squibb)Specialty portfolio (e.g., oral & infused oncology/immunology)As low as $0 per dose, or per one-month supply for listed orals, subject to a product-specific maximumDollar maximums and the benefit period are in the product terms, not on the portal page. Do not infer a clock from this page.The portal does not say who pays after the maximum. Medicare, Medicaid, and TRICARE patients are not eligible. BMS may refer them to independent foundations and says it cannot guarantee assistance.
Amgen SupportPlus (Amgen)Specialty biologic portfolio (e.g., immunology, bone health)Not stated on the public page. The page says eligibility criteria and program maximums apply.Not stated on the public co-pay page.Not stated on this page. The program is not valid when Medicare, Medicaid, or another federal or state program pays for the prescription in whole or in part.
Carnegie Savings Coupon (Carnegie Pharma)Erythromycin EthylsuccinateUp to $80 per prescription, aggregate maximum $960 per 12-month periodPer 12-month period. The coupon does not say whether that period is a calendar year, an enrollment anniversary, or a rolling lookback.Not valid if the plan or PBM uses an accumulator or maximizer that keeps copay assistance from counting toward cost-sharing limits. Not valid for government-program coverage, or for residents of Massachusetts or California. This is a receipt-reimbursement coupon, not an adjudicated pharmacy card.

Three benefit periods: calendar year, enrollment year, and a 12-month aggregate

A common intake error is to tell the patient that every copay program resets on January 1 because many commercial deductibles do. The terms checked here use at least three different period sentences: a calendar year that names January 1 through December 31, a period defined as the date of enrollment through December 31 of the enrollment year, and an aggregate per 12-month period whose start date is not defined. Using the wrong sentence produces a reset date the program did not write.

The first clock is the Fixed Calendar Year, exemplified by ADC Therapeutics' ADVANCING Patient Support program for ZYNLONTA. The terms say the maximum Copay Assistance Program benefit per patient, per calendar year (January 1 through December 31), is $25,000. A patient who starts in October is still inside that calendar year, so the stated cap is $25,000 for the year. The terms do not write a three-month fraction. The $25,000 figure is a maximum the program will pay toward cost sharing, not a funded account. Whether a new $25,000 is available on the next January 1 is a renewal question. The sentence that was verified sets the cap for the named calendar year.

The second clock is the Enrollment-Defined Year, used by Pfizer for CIBINQO and LITFULO. Eligible commercial patients may receive a maximum benefit of $15,000 per calendar year, which the terms define as the date of enrollment through December 31 of the enrollment year. The same paragraph says that after a maximum of $15,000, the patient is responsible for the remaining monthly out-of-pocket costs. The terms do not state a smaller prorated cap for a mid-year start. They also do not, in that sentence, promise that a new $15,000 benefit opens on January 1. Copy the enrollment date, copy the sentence, and confirm renewal with the program before telling the patient the gap ends on New Year's Day.

The third clock is the 12-month aggregate, illustrated by Carnegie Pharmaceuticals' erythromycin ethylsuccinate coupon. Patients may be reimbursed up to $80 per prescription, subject to a maximum aggregate of $960 per 12-month period, while the program remains in effect. The coupon does not define that 12-month period as a calendar year, as enrollment through December 31, or as a 365-day lookback in which old claims fall off. Do not tell a patient who exhausts the coupon in May that January, or the anniversary of the first fill, restores the benefit. Ask the program which 12 months it counts. The offer is a reimbursement coupon: the patient submits the pharmacy receipt and proof of the prescription by email or mail. It is not valid for government-program coverage, for Massachusetts or California residents, or if the plan or PBM uses an accumulator or maximizer that keeps copay assistance from counting toward cost-sharing limits.

flowchart TD
    A["Assistance reaches the maximum in the current terms"] --> B{"Copy the benefit-period sentence and date the copy"}
    B -- "Calendar year: ADC ZYNLONTA" --> C["Terms say January 1 through December 31\nStated maximum is $25,000 for that year"]
    B -- "Enrollment year: Pfizer CIBINQO and LITFULO" --> D["Defined as enrollment through December 31\nThat sentence does not promise a January 1 renewal"]
    B -- "12-month aggregate: Carnegie coupon" --> E["$960 aggregate per 12-month period\nStart date is not defined\nAsk the program which 12 months apply"]
    C --> F["Record the sentence, the as-of date, and only a reset the program confirms"]
    D --> F
    E --> F
Read the benefit-period sentence before calculating a reset date.

The operating rule is short. Copy the period sentence from the current terms, date the copy, and compute a reset only when that sentence or the program states one. A January 1 date that is not in the terms is a guess.

What the patient owes the day the maximum is reached

The day an annual maximum is exhausted, the program pays no further amount under that maximum, and the patient owes the cost sharing the plan assigns. Pfizer's CIBINQO and LITFULO terms say it directly: "After a maximum of $15,000, you will be responsible for paying the remaining monthly out-of-pocket costs." ADC's ZYNLONTA terms say: "Enrolled patients are responsible for all copays and any other balances not covered by the Copay Assistance Program."

A monthly maximum can stop assistance before the annual maximum. On the Gilead page checked September 30, 2026, EMTRIVA is up to $3,600 per calendar year with a $300 monthly maximum, and TYBOST is up to $600 per calendar year with a $50 monthly maximum. The plan's coverage is a separate question. If prior authorization is still in force and the drug is still covered, the plan keeps paying its contracted share. The patient owes the deductible, copay, or coinsurance on that fill. Those dollars are on the claim response or the explanation of benefits. This article does not state a typical specialty coinsurance rate or a typical allowed amount.

Practitioner notes often frame card exhaustion as a late-year problem. The Biologic Coordinators of Dermatology, in a November 2025 note, say most programs set an annual limit, often between $10,000 and $25,000, and advise clinics to check remaining balances around October or November. That timing fits a calendar-year program used all year. It does not fit a 12-month period that is not a calendar year, a mid-year start, a monthly maximum, or an accumulator that leaves the deductible unmet. Those cases can exhaust in any month. The BCoD range is an observation, not a census of program terms.

How accumulator and maximizer designs change the same event

Stopping the card and owing nothing more are different events. On a standard commercial benefit, dollars the manufacturer pays count toward the deductible and the out-of-pocket maximum. Whether those limits are already satisfied when the card runs out depends on the plan's own limits and on how much the card paid. A $15,000 card can exceed a lower out-of-pocket maximum. A $600 or $960 maximum often will not. Do not tell the team that exhaustion is uneventful, or that the plan then pays 100 percent, unless the plan document shows the out-of-pocket maximum is already met.

Under a Copay Accumulator Adjustment Program (CAAP), the plan or PBM takes the manufacturer's payments and does not count them toward the deductible or out-of-pocket maximum. When the card reaches its maximum, the patient's own progress toward those limits can still be zero. KFF's illustration is the case in which the coupon is used up and the deductible is still unmet. The patient then owes the plan's remaining deductible and coinsurance until the patient's own payments reach those limits. For how support teams monitor that plan-side design, see copay accumulator and maximizer monitoring for manufacturer support teams.

Under a Copay Maximizer, KFF describes plans that reclassify certain high-cost specialty drugs so they are no longer subject to the Affordable Care Act's cost-sharing limits. The coupon does not count toward the deductible or out-of-pocket maximum. Cost sharing is set to the maximum value of the coupon and applied evenly through the year. An enrollee who participates typically does not face an immediate out-of-pocket cost for that drug. An enrollee who does not participate can face large cost sharing that does not count toward the out-of-pocket maximum. KFF does not describe every maximizer as a waiver of every federal limit, and a manufacturer can still stop paying. Gilead says it may discontinue or reduce assistance under a maximizer unless prohibited by law.

Some program terms answer accumulator and maximizer designs directly. Gilead says that if it determines a maximizer is in place, it may discontinue or reduce assistance unless prohibited by law, and if it determines an accumulator is in place, it may reduce assistance to a per-claim maximum of $25 unless prohibited by law. Carnegie's coupon is not valid if the plan or PBM uses an accumulator or maximizer that keeps copay assistance from counting toward cost-sharing limits. Those sentences are conditional. They are not an automatic cancellation on every plan. If the manufacturer applies them, assistance can stop before the published annual maximum, and the patient then owes the plan's remaining cost sharing. When the dispute is the plan's accumulator classification, use the specialty drug copay accumulator appeal workflow to challenge plan documentation.

Plan Design TypeDeductible / OOP Max CreditStatus at Card ExhaustionWhat the manufacturer terms sayPatient Out-of-Pocket Liability
Standard Commercial BenefitManufacturer payments count toward the deductible and out-of-pocket maximum.Those limits may or may not already be met. A card maximum does not prove they are met.Program pays up to its own annual maximum, and up to any monthly maximum.Patient owes the plan's remaining cost sharing until the patient's own payments reach the plan's limits.
Copay Accumulator (CAAP)Zero credit: manufacturer card payments excluded from deductible & OOP maxThe patient's own deductible and out-of-pocket progress can still be zero.Gilead may reduce assistance to $25 per claim. The Carnegie coupon is not valid.Patient owes the plan's deductible and coinsurance until the patient's own payments meet those limits.
Copay MaximizerKFF: some plans reclassify certain specialty drugs so ACA cost-sharing limits do not apply, and the coupon does not count toward deductible or out-of-pocket maximum.KFF: cost sharing is set to the coupon's maximum value and applied evenly through the year.Gilead may discontinue or reduce assistance. The Carnegie coupon is not valid.A participating enrollee typically has no immediate out-of-pocket cost for that drug. If the manufacturer stops paying, confirm the new exposure. Do not assume a zero balance.
State-Regulated Plan (in Ban State)State-regulated plans covered by that state's ban must count assistance toward cost-sharing limits. Avalere notes some bans apply only when no generic is available.Counts like a standard benefit only for plans the statute reaches. Self-insured ERISA plans are outside these state laws.A state ban does not delete a manufacturer's clause. Gilead's accumulator reduction applies unless prohibited by law.The patient still owes cost sharing until the plan's own limits are met. The ban does not raise the manufacturer's annual maximum.

Avalere's analysis of AIS September 2025 enrollment data says that since 2019, 25 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico have enacted laws banning accumulator programs for state-regulated plans, including the individual market and fully insured large-group and small-group markets. Avalere estimates that at least 16.8 percent of the U.S. commercial market, about 34.28 million people, is enrolled in plans that must count copay assistance toward cost-sharing limits, and it notes that some state bans apply only when a generic is not available. Drug Channels reported that New Jersey became the 26th state with an anti-accumulator law in January 2026, and that these laws reach fully insured and marketplace plans. States do not have the same authority over self-insured ERISA plans, which Drug Channels describes as still the majority of commercial coverage. A ban can change whether assistance counts toward the deductible and out-of-pocket maximum. It does not increase the manufacturer's annual maximum.

Who cannot use the card at all: the federal-program boundary

When a commercial patient exhausts a card, another commercial coupon is not an automatic replacement, and re-enrollment under a second card identifier is not a fix the terms allow. The sharper boundary is government-program coverage. The manufacturer terms reviewed here exclude Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, VA, and other government-program payment. Gilead also names the Federal Employees Health Benefits Program. For Medicare Part D, the Office of Inspector General's November 2005 Special Advisory Bulletin says manufacturer subsidies of Part D cost sharing present heightened anti-kickback risk. That bulletin is guidance. It is not a statute that labels every card transaction a false claim. Do not submit a commercial copay card for a federal beneficiary, and do not re-enroll that patient on a commercial card.

The bulletin, published at 70 Federal Register 70623, addresses manufacturer patient assistance programs for Part D enrollees under the anti-kickback statute, 42 U.S.C. 1320a-7b(b). Its operative point for this workflow is the risk finding: manufacturer programs that subsidize Part D cost sharing present heightened anti-kickback risks. Treat the bulletin as OIG guidance. It is not a finding that the hub has already submitted a false claim. The same bulletin says assistance to uninsured patients is outside the Part D problem it discusses.

The bulletin also describes safeguards under which cost-sharing subsidies from a bona fide independent charity should not raise anti-kickback concerns: the charity is independent of donors, awards are truly independent, financial need is measured by a reasonable, verifiable, and uniform method, and donors do not receive data that let them correlate donations with use of their products. CMS, on its patient-assistance-program page, says a PAP may help a Part D enrollee by operating outside the Part D benefit, and that this assistance does not count toward true out-of-pocket costs. A manufacturer free-drug program that stays outside Part D is a different route from a copay card. It still does not count toward TrOOP, and it is not a commercial card with the government exclusion removed.

The foundation route after the maximum: TotalAssist, HealthWell, and fund status

After a commercial maximum, or when a federal beneficiary cannot use a manufacturer card, the route the OIG bulletin distinguishes for cost-sharing help is an independent charity. That market changed in 2026. A referral from a manufacturer is not an award.

In March 2026, the Patient Advocate Foundation (PAF) and the PAN Foundation finalized a historic strategic merger, combining the nation's two largest patient assistance grantors into a single unified organization. On July 1, 2026, the merged entity launched TotalAssist—a unified financial assistance platform that replaced the legacy PAF Copay Relief and PAN Foundation intake portals. The combined TotalAssist program covers nearly 150 disease-specific funds, providing copay, premium, and travel assistance through a single consolidated application workflow.

Alongside TotalAssist, the HealthWell Foundation remains a separate national grantor. Its homepage says the patient must have insurance and that income must be within 500 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. Treat 500 percent as the figure on that page, then read the income test on the specific fund. On September 30, 2026, HealthWell's disease-fund list marked individual funds Open or Closed, and the homepage shows a closed-fund state with an alert signup. Record the label on the day of the check. An earlier open status is not evidence the fund is open now.

  • Open, on the fund list checked September 30, 2026: The disease fund was marked open and was accepting the applications that status allows. Recheck before relying on it. Open is not an approval of a particular patient.

  • Closed, on that same list and on the homepage: The fund was marked closed. The homepage points patients whose fund is closed toward alerts. Closed on the check date does not prove the fund will stay closed, and it does not prove a grant will open later.

Do not treat a foundation grant as a safety net that is already approved. BMS Access Support says patients insured through Medicare, Medicaid, or TRICARE are not eligible for its co-pay program, that it may give them information about independent charitable foundations, and that it cannot guarantee assistance. Check the fund on the day of intake, write down the open or closed label and the date, and prepare income documents the fund actually asks for. The income-documentation workflow is in patient assistance program income documentation. Foundation endowment figures are a separate record; see pharma copay foundations IRS Form 990 data.

At the counter: reading the reject and making the next call

At the pharmacy, exhaustion is a claim response, not a letter. The useful fact is which processor returned which code and message. National Council for Prescription Drug Programs reject codes are not self-explanatory, and a copay-card processor can return a message that is not on a plan's payer sheet.

CVS Caremark's payer sheet lists NCPDP reject 76 as 'Plan Limitations Exceeded'. That label means a plan limit. It does not say which limit. The CAPLYTA pharmacy guide uses 76 as an example and describes it as a days' supply or quantity limit that must be addressed before the plan will cover the prescription. A copay-card dollar maximum can also come back as a plan-limitations reject, or as a message from the card processor that is not on the Caremark sheet. Read the BIN, the free-text message, and whether the reject is on the primary plan or the secondary card before recording 76 as annual-cap exhaustion. The same Caremark sheet lists reject 887 as 'A Previous Payer(s) Is An Excluded Federal Health Care Program Copay Assistance Is Not Allowed'. That message is the claim-level face of a government-program exclusion on that payer sheet. It is evidence of how the claim adjudicated. It is not, by itself, an anti-kickback finding.

Pharmacy rejects and medical remittances use different code sets. Claim adjustment reason code 119 uses the text 'Benefit maximum for this time period or occurrence has been reached'. CMS quotes that text on Medicare remittance instructions. A CO-119 on a buy-and-bill remittance is not NCPDP 76, and it is not evidence that a manufacturer copay card reached its annual maximum. Do not appeal one code as if it were the other.

The CAPLYTA guide's own instruction for a rejection is to identify the code, call the plan, address the reason the message states, and ask about other patient-support options. When the message might be a copay-card dollar maximum rather than a quantity or days' supply limit, add these checks:

  1. Record the exact code and response message: Capture the reject code, the free-text message, which payer BIN returned it, the primary paid amount, and the patient balance. Do not record 76 as an annual-cap exhaustion until the message or the card processor says the dollar maximum was reached. A monthly maximum, a quantity limit, or a days' supply limit can use the same code.

  2. Contact the secondary card processor: Call the processor that returned the reject. If it is the copay-card processor, ask for year-to-date disbursements, any monthly maximum, the remaining balance, and the benefit-period sentence in the current terms. Do not write January 1 as the reset unless that sentence, or the processor, says so.

  3. Examine plan accumulator status: Review the patient's Explanation of Benefits (EOB) or contact the primary PBM to confirm whether the plan applies an accumulator adjustment program and determine actual progress toward the deductible.

  4. Initiate secondary support triage: If the program confirms the annual maximum is exhausted and the plan documents show an accumulator, check independent-foundation fund status the same day. A manufacturer bridge, if that program offers one, is a separate request. The reject code does not approve it.

A worked record: the fields that decide the next step

The record below is a template with placeholder values. It is not a patient's file, and none of the placeholder rows is evidence that assistance, a grant, or coverage will be approved. Every live row needs the document that proves it and the date that document was read.

Field Category & ParameterVerified Source DocumentIllustrative Case Value (Placeholder)Operational Significance & Action Rule
Patient Case IdentifierSpecialty Pharmacy Case Management SystemCASE-EXHAUST-2026-088Internal tracking identifier; confirms case isolation across support workflows.
Medication & Therapy ClassDispensing Pharmacy Prescription OrderSpecialty Biologic 100 mg/mL (Dermatology)Identifies clinical dosing schedule and determines monthly financial burn rate.
Manufacturer Assistance ProgramCopay Card Portal Registration ProfileDermAccess Commercial Copay Savings ProgramIdentifies the specific governing assistance agreement and manufacturer sponsor.
Program Terms Snapshot & DateManufacturer T&C Website / Published PDFTerms Version 2026-v2, Verified 2026-09-30Placeholder version label only. On a live file, store the verbatim terms and the date they were read. Programs can change terms without notice.
Stated Program Annual MaximumProgram Terms & Conditions Schedule$15,000.00 Maximum Benefit per Calendar YearThe hard contractual ceiling for manufacturer subsidies within a single benefit year.
Benefit Clock ArchitectureVerbatim sentence copied from the current program termsPlaceholder: enrollment date through December 31 of the enrollment yearRecord the sentence. Do not enter a January 1 reset unless the terms or the program confirm renewal.
Program Enrollment DateCopay Card Electronic Activation RecordMarch 15, 2026Fixes the start date of the patient's initial program period under an enrollment clock.
Calculated Benefit Reset DateProgram confirmation, not a date assumed from the calendarLeave blank until confirmed. January 1, 2027 is not established by an enrollment-through-December-31 sentence alone.The exposure window is unknown until the program states the next date assistance can resume.
Cumulative Assistance DisbursedSecondary Payer Electronic EOB History$15,000.00 (Exhausted at August Dispensing)Confirms benefit cap reached; verifies that no remaining funds exist for current year.
Primary Plan Copay AdjustmentPlan Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC)Copay Accumulator Adjustment Program ActiveCritical: Card payments did NOT credit toward deductible; patient has $0 plan deductible progress.
State Accumulator Ban StatusPlan document or summary plan descriptionSelf-Insured ERISA Plan (Exempt from State Ban)Placeholder classification only. ERISA self-funded status comes from the plan document, not from a state insurance-license lookup.
Pharmacy Counter TransactionNCPDP D.0 Secondary Claim ResponseReject 76: 'Plan Limitations Exceeded'Placeholder code only. Reject 76 means a plan limit. Confirm in the message text that the limit is the copay program's dollar maximum.
Independent Foundation StatusTotalAssist Portal Verification (Checked 2026-09-30)Placeholder: fund marked closed to new applicants on the check dateRecheck the fund the day of the call. A closed label is not a prediction, and it is not a denial of every other charity.

Read the placeholder the way a live file should be read. In the illustration, the plan document says the plan is self-insured, so a state accumulator ban is the wrong shield until someone shows the statute reaches that plan. The foundation cell is a closed label on one check date, not a finding that TotalAssist or HealthWell will refuse the patient next week. The reset cell is blank on purpose: an enrollment-through-December-31 sentence does not, by itself, create a January 1, 2027 benefit. The coordinator's next calls are the program, for the renewal date and any bridge the program actually offers, and the fund list, for today's status. None of those calls is an approval.

Medicare patients after assistance: the cap changes the arithmetic, not the rules

For Medicare Part D enrollees, the landscape of specialty out-of-pocket exposure changed profoundly with the implementation of the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 (IRA). Effective calendar year 2026, the annual Medicare Part D out-of-pocket maximum is capped at $2,100, which Patient Advocate Foundation states is the 2026 cap, indexed from the $2,000 cap it states for 2025. PAF says the cap includes deductibles, copayments, and coinsurance for covered Part D drugs, and that after the cap the enrollee pays $0 for covered Part D drugs for the rest of the year. The cap does not apply to drugs that are outside Part D, including drugs covered under Part B, and it does not apply to the Part D premium. The removal of the old catastrophic coinsurance and the dollar cap are separate Inflation Reduction Act changes. Do not describe the 2026 cap as the event that first eliminated 5 percent catastrophic coinsurance.

The cap changes the upper bound on covered Part D out-of-pocket drug costs. It does not change what a commercial copay card may do. Patient Advocate Foundation states the 2026 bound as $2,100. A hypothetical specialty price is not required to use that rule, and this article does not supply one. The Medicare Prescription Payment Plan can spread Part D out-of-pocket costs across the remaining months of the year. That changes when the enrollee pays, not the cap, and it does not make a manufacturer card usable. The linked hub article is the place for the payment-plan workflow.

However, navigators must understand that the IRA out-of-pocket cap changes only the arithmetic of specialty coverage; it does not change the program rules. OIG's 2005 bulletin and the manufacturer exclusions remain in force. A Part D enrollee cannot use these commercial copay cards to pay any portion of the $2,100. CMS says manufacturer patient-assistance that helps a Part D enrollee has to stay outside the Part D benefit, and that assistance does not count toward TrOOP. The cap did not amend those sentences.

Independent charity grants are the cost-sharing route the OIG bulletin distinguishes from a manufacturer subsidy. They are not guaranteed, they are not the only form of help a manufacturer may offer outside Part D, and a closed fund is a current status rather than a legal bar on every charity. For hub screening, the payment plan, and foundation coordination around the cap, see the Medicare Part D $2,100 out-of-pocket cap and manufacturer hub operations.

Sources

Ran Chen
Contributing Editor
Ran Chen

Founder, PharmaDossier. Life-sciences operator covering market access, specialty pharma, biosimilars, and regulated healthcare growth.

Follow on LinkedIn →